10th Anniversary: Official Competition 2017

The Official Competition celebrated its tenth anniversary in 2017, marking a decade of awarding the Sydney Film Prize to each year’s most 'audacious, cutting-edge and courageous' film. The competition is endorsed by FIAPF, the regulating body for international film festivals, and is judged by a jury of five international and Australian filmmakers and industry professionals. The $60,000 cash prize is presented at SFF’s Closing Night ceremony.

The competition celebrates that rare but thrilling kind of film that truly moves the art form forward. Innovative, provocative and controversial, they broaden our understanding of the world and say important things in original ways. The previous winners of the Sydney Film Prize are: On Body and Soul (2017); Aquarius (2016); Arabian Nights (2015); Two Days, One Night (2014); Only God Knows (2013); Alps (2012); A Separation (2011); Heartbeats (2010); Bronson (2009); and Hunger (2008).

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of Sydney Film Festival's Official Competition, take a look back at the past winners, jury members and competition entrants.