SFF 2013 Official Competition winner

Sunday, 16 June, 2013

The winner of Sydney Film Festival's prestigious Sydney Film Prize, now in its sixth year, was revealed in Sydney today.

Out of a selection of 12 films
in SFF's Official Competition, the Sydney Film Prize was awarded to Only God Forgives, directed by Nicolas Winding Refn. The $60,000 prize, Australia's richest cash award for film, is awarded in recognition of courageous, audacious and cutting-edge film. This is the second time Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn has won the Sydney Prize, previously winning it in 2009 with the British prison thriller Bronson.

Ryan Gosling, Kristin Scott Thomas and Vithaya Pansringarm, Only God Forgives is a brutal and stylish story of betrayal, rage and redemption set in the Thai underworld.

In attendance at the harbour-side announcement were Festival Director
Nashen Moodley; Official Competition Jury President Hugo Weaving; Official Competition filmmakers Christine Cynn, Kim Mordaunt, Sylvia Wilczynski, Pauline Phoumindr, Sittiphon Disamoe, Lungnam Kaosinam, Alice Keohavong and Boonsri Yindi; and jury members Paolo Bertolin, Anand Gandhi, Pia Marais and Kath Shelper.

10 days of captivating and diverse film viewing and passionate conversations, the jury arrived at a majority decision. In the true spirit of the Competition criteria, we award a visually mesmerizing and disturbing film, which polarised our opinions. The winner of the Sydney Film Prize is Only God Forgives," said the Official Competition jury, headed by Hugo Weaving.

"I am very honoured and extremely excited to have received this honourable award from a country that in
my opinion has one of the great film histories of the world," said Nicolas Winding Refn.